Just Ask! Pushing My Luck Saves Me Money

I’ve been wimping out on my Just Ask! Negotiations challenge.  After a recent small victory over a $40 bill, I haven’t called the cable company to re-negotiate and I was this close to not asking for a fee waiver that would save us $140.  Why? Because I have a lot of pride and the vendor has been more than generous with discounts and fee waivers of late. True, this vendor has gotten a lot of our hard-earned cash this past two years but I still didn’t know if I should push my luck by asking once again.

Well, I sent off a short email.  I thanked them for their work and cautiously broached the subject. They quickly waived the $140 fee.  Success!

One of these days I should add up the savings due to my Just Ask! mindset.  Off the top of my head, I saved about $1,000+ on car repairs, at least $2,500+ in medical-related costs, and a good chunk of change for service providers like cable and phones.  Although not officially part of this self-challenge, my husband has also saved us money by asking for discounts here and there. 

As I mentioned, sometimes (oftentimes) my resolve waivers.  However, this blog holds me somewhat accountable and my string of successes reinforce the importance of asking. Lesson Learned:  You may think you’re pushing your luck, but it’s all in your head.

3 responses to “Just Ask! Pushing My Luck Saves Me Money

  1. simplelifeinfrance

    Great idea! I’m pretty bad at this, in fact. My husband is better. And I agree, adding up the savings probably helps. I recently saved about 150 euros in moving costs and 200 related to my driver’s license fees by just asking–I don’t like doing it, but hey, that’s a lot of money! Particularly for people who are as frugal as we are.

    I will have to give this some more thought . . .

  2. @Simple in France: I’ve mentioned in another post that I really think negotiations, a trait associated with business savvy, is key for frugal living. Yet I noticed that most of my artistic and frugal minded friends are not good at this and consequently, get screwed (to put it bluntly). I waiver back and forth but I have to say that negotiations have made it possible for me to save a lot of money and enjoy a simpler life.

  3. I like the Just Ask mindset. After all, you never know if you don’t try!

    In response to your comment, I doubt my brother will take tons of food pictures. I tried to convince him before he left to sneak be back some steak. He didn’t seem too enamored with the idea.

Leave a Reply

