Don’t Call Me A Foodie

I hate the term ‘foodie’ which is probably ironic since this is a food-obsessed blog. However, I think of foodies as people who subscribe to Bon Appetit,  read restaurant reviews, and try hard to distance themselves from the average American.  They act like they never step foot inside a fast food joint, eat frozen dinners while watching TV or scarf down canned soups and chef boyardee. (Sorry if my examples are way off or not your personal experience, but that’s my outsider perception of typical American eating habits!)

To me, there is something inherently pretentious and false about distancing yourself from your native food culture and/or background.   I’m not saying that if you’re American you can only be ‘real’ if you eat junk food but at the same time, I think foodies try way too hard to be something they’re not. 

Because I grew up eating good Chinese homecooking, I didn’t have to become a ‘foodie’ in order to better appreciate and enjoy food.  In my circle, everyone loves food to varying degrees.  Same goes for my Italian husband. When everyone is a ‘foodie’ then the term becomes irrelevant.

I don’t pretend to have an answer, nor do I mean to insult people who are honestly trying to improve their food habits. I just wish we could put that term to rest.

Do you have a different perception of ‘foodies’? Do you like the term or even refer to yourself as one? Do ‘foodies’ secretly munch on oreos when others aren’t watching?

8 responses to “Don’t Call Me A Foodie

  1. Pingback: Food Heaven « Oilandgarlic's Blog

  2. From what I’ve seen, a “foodie” is someone who likes good food, regardless of where it came from or how fancy or simple (or expensive or cheap) it may be. A “gourmet,” on the other hand, thinks that really all good food is French.

    But I do think there’s some snobbery among many “foodies” as well. So a phrase I like to keep in my back pocket is, “Well, it’s a good thing I’m not making you eat it, then, isn’t it?”

    • Interesting definitions. I also think foodies read a lot about food and restaurants. While I love food, I don’t think I’m as into it as my foodie friends. I love that phrase you came up with. One time I suggested to a foodie friend that we go to some chain (it was past noon, convenient, etc..) and she looked at me like I was suggesting we ate dog poop from the sidewalk!

  3. I don’t like the term “foodie”, but, sorry, I must admit I totally distance myself from a lot of the foods I grew up on. Because they don’t taste good to me, they don’t make me feel good, and I’m a grown up when has the freedom to make my own food choices now. I’m not trying to be something I’m not, I just sincerely find (for example) Applebee’s and McDonalds completely disgusting.

  4. Yes, I do know many foodies that had to distance themselves because childhood food choices were Kraft Cheese and McDonalds. I know I’m lucky that I grew up eating fresh and healthier foods (although my parents also knew little about real cheese!)

  5. I’m totes a foodie. I love food and restaurants and cooking and did subscribe to Gourmet magazine before it went under. I’m also a snob about “foods” that are disgusting like McDonald’s, but would never turn my nose down at the incredibly fattening rural home cooking DH’s grandmother makes. I love food and it’s one of my favorite hobbies. I especially love trying new food things. And I’m sad I can’t have wheat, but I’m enjoying exploring other alternatives.

    My sister got DC a book called “Foodie babies wear bibs.” It’s adorbs.

    I still like mac and cheese even if I can’t have it (especially with tuna and green peas– 1980s style stovetop casserole… though Alton Brown’s from scratch variety is ambrosial). 😦

  6. Is this post really from 2009???

Leave a Reply

