Simple Recipe #3: Vegetable Stir Fry

This “simple recipe” series is a personal challenge to come up with 31 recipes  for good, simple meals on those days that you’re busy, tired, stressed or your favorite show is starting in 20 minutes!

Nothing is simpler than stir fry. Chop in a few vegetables, add in tofu or meat if you like, sauté with soy sauce and voila!  I admit that I’m not a master at stir fry. My dishes always turn out well but it’s not like my mom’s versions. I lack practice and more importantly, I don’t own a wok.  You can use any deep frying pan but a wok makes it ten times easier because it allows you to stir vigorously without flipping food on the stovetop.  Try it and you’ll see the difference. I should get one but I digress…

What I love about stir fry is the variety. I prefer bean sprouts, red bell peppers, broccoli or spring peas, tofu and mushrooms.   Last night, I did not have any of the above ingredients except broccoli so I improvised by using zucchini and a yellow squash. I wasn’t sure if they would ‘take’ the soy sauce well so I didn’t add too much. 

Ingredients:

Broccoli (2 crowns)

Zucchini (2)

Yellow squash (1)

Soy sauce

Extra virgin olive oil (any oil is fine)

Sesame oil (optional)

Recipe in 3 simple steps:

1 ) Drizzle olive oil in a deep frying pan or wok. Add in chopped broccoli and drizzle with soy sauce and a bit of sesame oil. Add in a bit of water. Cover with lid and cook until broccoli is more tender, stirring occasionally.   

2 ) Add chopped zucchini and squash. Drizzle a little soy sauce and stir around.

3 ) Re-lid the pan if the broccoli is still tough; otherwise you can keeping stirring until all the vegetables are cooked.

In the meantime, I made steamed rice.  Top the rice with the stir fry vegetables and you have a delicious, healthy meal.

 

Leave a Reply

