31 Simple Recipes: Salads #5, #6 and #7

This is another in a series of simple recipes. I thought it would be easy to come up with 31 but I’m struggling at #7. I guess I’m struggling with whether a recipe is truly easy or not.

I thought I would lump 3 easy-to-make salads in one big post!

#5 Green Bean and Potato Salad

– Steam green beans. Boil or steam the potatoes (russet or red) in a separate pot Mix together with extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper. You can also add a can of tuna.

#6 Greek Salad

Wash and cut romaine hearts lettuce. Chop tomatoes and slice red onions. Sprinkle in crumbled feta cheese (or cubed feta cheese). Mix and add in extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper. Many people add olives but I prefer it without.

#7 Pasta Salad

Pasta salad is an old stand-by and there are tons of recipes out there. I use fusilli or a mini-penne pasta and add in a variety of vegetables depending on what I have on hand and what’s in season. Some favorites include red bell peppers, squash, zucchini, lima beans, spinach, red onions, olives, arugula, peas, gouda or swiss cheese. I generally saute the vegetables in olive oil; of course some can be chopped or come straight from a can. For dressing, I mix in extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar and a dash of dijon mustard. This is also great for lunch at work.

3 responses to “31 Simple Recipes: Salads #5, #6 and #7

  1. Pingback: But I Love Bell Peppers! « Oilandgarlic's Blog

  2. Pingback: Simple Recipe #19: Broccoli And Tuna Pasta Salad « Oilandgarlic's Blog

  3. Pingback: Simple Recipe #11: Black Bean And Cheese Burrito « Oilandgarlic's Blog

Leave a Reply

