Writing Recipes Is Not My Forté

I just realized that most recipes start with the quantity of an ingredient (as in 1 onion, 2 tablespoon of salt, etc..) not with the ingredient first.  I’m 99% sure that I’ve been flipping it the other way and I don’t plan to go back and rewrite every recipe.  I’m just not sure if I should follow conventions, if that is truly the standard convention, in the future.  However, both Sunset magazine and most bloggers can’t be wrong about this, right? 

In my defense, I mentioned many times that my husband taught me how to cook and I picked up a few things from watching my mother.  We only consult recipes on occasion and I obviously did not pay that much attention to details! 

Writing down recipes is actually a painful process for me. Now I know why my husband usually tells me to cook things “by eye” and why my mom’s measurements are always “a pinch of this and a pinch of that.”

Leave a Reply

