Stop And Water The Roses…Or The Simpler Joys Of Life

With an early workday and lazy weekend mornings, it’s easy to forget about the very existence of early mornings.  Normally I rush around in the morning, get in my car and drive off to work.  On weekends, I wake up at 9 a.m. if I’m lucky. 

Yesterday morning, however, I stopped to smell the roses (actually, to water flowers and plants).  I had 5 minutes to spare so I thought I’d do this extra chore.  The chore turned into a mini-blissful moment, one that is too rare on a busy work week.   The sun cast a warm glow and was not yet harsh.  Tiny wrens were  chirping, dancing around and doing what birds do.  What struck me most was the feel of fresh air.  I’ve forgotten how crisp and cool the air is in the early mornings.  This simple ‘chore’ reminded me that I should time to enjoy the littlest things in life…like fresh air!

Leave a Reply

