Simple Joys Are Not Enough

I have been cataloguing simple joys that make me happy, or at least happier, like daily yoga, eating well at home, early mornings, a husband’s gift and a nicer backyard.  However, all those little things are just not enough when you go through life’s inevitable crisis.  At least they don’t seem enough at this moment.  I wish I could be one of those people who truly only need the simpler things in life.  Right now, I want anything by Missoni, a Foley + Corinna handbag, a J. Crew cashmere sweater, plane tickets to Barcelona and lots of STUFF.  STUFF that show others (and myself) that all my hard work is worth it, that I have extra money to spend on frivolous things and don’t have to worry about bills and cut coupons.

Update: I went shopping but ended up buying nothing.  I didn’t want to buy just for the sake of buying.  Even the J. Crew online sale did not entice me.  After some thought, I guess I realized again that shopping isn’t a solution.

One response to “Simple Joys Are Not Enough

  1. I think it’s a process to reach that level of contentment with simplicity. And still, even when I’m there, I shouldn’t think that I’d turn down a particularly nice thing or other.

    I started my journey by learning to say that “SOMETIMES simple things aren’t enough.” Took a while for that to absorb and become true. I’m working on the next step, but will never wholly be ascetic.

Leave a Reply

