No Goals In 2010

During most of my 20s and 30s, I made New Year’s Resolutions.  I think I actually achieved many of these, especially once I learned to make measurable goals instead of vague goals (i.e. like do yoga every other day versus get healthier). I stopped drinking soda, reduced caffeine consumption, drink green tea 4-5 times a week, went back to school, switched careers, took classes to improve my work skills, increased retirement savings by a certain percentage, traveled to places on my must-see list, etc…

I’ve also missed too many goals to name.  I did not climb the corporate ladder, buy a house, or max out my retirement accounts.  I still haven’t volunteered or improved my photoshop skills or learned another language.  Too often I still take my husband, family and friends for granted. I haven’t even attempted to make chicken salad, one of the easiest goals I’ve ever set! Yes, seriously….

At one point, I just stopped making New Year’s Resolutions.  I still accomplished things throughout the year but instead of writing a long list each January, I just kept a list of anything I was somewhat proud of doing.  Even reading eight books in 2009 counts as an accomplishment.

Not making resolutions now doesn’t mean that I won’t do so in the future. If I read an inspiring story, I often make up a goal mid-year.  I quit drinking soda a few summers ago and started my Just Ask! negotations challenge in October.

I am a bit worried that I will be too unfocused without firm resolutions.  We’ll see. There are so many things I still need to achieve.

How about you? Do you always make resolutions? Is this a dead giveaway that I’m a proud member of the apathetic Gen-X?

2 responses to “No Goals In 2010

  1. I have made resolutions the past few years, but I’m kind of feeling apathetic about them this year. Like you, I still have a ton of things I plan to acheive — I’m just not sure which ones are worth writing down, and what I might come up with halfway through the year, what I might change my mind about.

    But I’ll still make them, eventually. I’m trying to decompress after the past month or so before chasing new goals, but I’ve already been contemplating some major fitness goal (marathon?)

  2. I always make goals because othewise, I can’t motivate myself to do better. Nothing pains me more than putting that red “Fail” on my wrap-ups.

Leave a Reply

