Simple Recipe #21: Bell Pepper And Onion Frittata

You know a recipe qualifies as simple when you can throw this together while still dressed in work clothes after a long day in the office.

My husband and I were both tired. We had dinner but nothing that I could bring for lunch.  So I quickly sautéd a sliced yellow onion and  sliced red bell peppers in a skillet (yellow onions first, let it sweat a bit, then add bell peppers, using extra virgin olive oil of course, salt and fajita seasoning to taste).  In the meantime, I cracked 4 eggs, added Cotija cheese and fresh black pepper, and whipped it until everything was mixed well.  When the onions and bell peppers were cooked, I added in the mixture and let it sit for a few minutes (until the bottom should be cooked).  While the top was still a bit runny, I put it in the oven on Broil to cook the top.

That was it! In about 30 minutes, I was done and had two slices of frittata for lunch (heated for 45 seconds in the microwave).

3 responses to “Simple Recipe #21: Bell Pepper And Onion Frittata

  1. I do variations of this almost weekly now (although for breakfast, which I eat at work because I have the commute from hell). It’s a great way to try new-to-me veggies too, I’ve noticed. Beet greens, etc. topped with some salsa. I’ve never tried Cojita cheese though. Will give it a whirl. Thanks for the tip!

    • The traditional recipe calls for parmigiano, which is always better, but cotija works well in a pinch and is much cheaper!

  2. Frittata has got to be one of our favorite easy dishes. Done in a small cast iron skillet, and finished under the broiler for that crusty cheesy top.
    This season, I’ve planted red and yellow bell peppers in the garden, so we’ll have more color.

Leave a Reply

