Food Heaven

On Sunday, my husband and I attended the L.A. Weekly 2nd Annual Gold Standard Food & Wine Festival, an event showcasing the best restaurants and food vendors according to food critic Jonathan Gold.  What I love about this event is that it is not the usual elitist “foodie” event (for reasons why I dislike the term “foodies”, click here).  Instead Mr. Gold’s selection ranged from high-profile restaurants like Mozza to affordable “hole-in-the-wall” joints like Pollo a la Brasa.  

General Admission tickets were $60 each and V.I.P. passes were an additional $20 each, so it was not a cheap event.  However, once inside, it was an all-you-can-eat affair (food, wine and beer).  There were two long hallways and outside patio with food vendors, plus another hall just for wineries and wine sellers.   A proper food blogger would have taken notes and photos, but I was too busy eating. 

The highlights for me were beef tongue tacos with a tomatillo sauce (Loteria Grill), smoked salmon on a thousand island dressing and toast (Hungry Cat restaurant), pork belly panini (Palate).  

At first, I was a bit disappointed by Mozza‘s decision to serve something as simple as fresh ricotta on crostini with caponata.  It was good but I expected something more.  Then I realized that they had created a dish with a few good ingredients — the hallmarks of authentic Italian cooking — rather than try to impress customers with originality at the expense of taste (more thoughts on this in a future post…) 

The biggest disappointment for me was the Kogi truck, famous for their Korean Mexican burritos and tacos.   My husband has eaten there before and said that it’s well worth the wait.  At this event, however, they served marinated tofu on a bed of lettuce.  I love tofu but this was not an outstanding dish.  I saw a woman dump an entire taco after one bite and I wouldn’t be surprised if more did the same.  

All in all, it was a fun event for food lovers.

4 responses to “Food Heaven

  1. simplelifeinfrance

    Sounds like a fun place to be inspired by all those foods. I’m interested in that concept you describe of making simple, good meals around a few basic (but high quality) ingredients. It sounds like something I’d enjoy reading more on . . .

  2. What a fun thing! I love those “Taste of’ type of events. Glad you had a great time.

  3. How do I live in Long Beach, work in Los Angeles, belong to Slow Food and not have any idea about this event? Lame, man. I am lame.

  4. It was definitely a fun event. However, there was a lot of paper and plastic waste. I guess that’s the nature of things when there are so many vendors giving away food on tiny paper plates. I only saw one recycle bin.

Leave a Reply

