Simple Joys…Coffee Breaks

Taking a break at work should be a no-brainer.  Countless studies have shown the benefits of taking short breaks — you’re more productive, you are less stressed, etc…  Most people probably don’t need to read scientific studies to know that!  Yet for much of my working life, I skipped the standard 15 minute morning and/or afternoon break.  Of course I had unofficial breaks where I chit-chat with colleagues, browse the web, or talk sports around the water cooler. However, more often than not, I plowed through the day until it was time to go home.

A few weeks ago, I scheduled a 15-minute break on my Outlook Calendar. It sounds crazy that I have to do this.  I’m not the Type-A workholic personality at all.  Since that time, I’ve been much better about taking a break even if I don’t really feel the need. I either take a short walk or skim through a magazine.  What matters most is that I step away from the computer!

I am hoping that these short breaks become part of my routine and help me to stress less.  While working is important, Simple in France has reminded me that our jobs can often make us crazy and even in better job situations, it’s not always good to care too much.

4 responses to “Simple Joys…Coffee Breaks

  1. The coffee break! I love my coffee and, like you, have trouble making myself take a break sometimes. When used to work in a high-rise in Seattle, I’d burn through work without breaks, then take a 1/2 hour lunch break where I’d go on a walk–if you work 9-5 in Seattle and have any commute whatsoever, it’s likely you will never be outside during the daylight in winter if you don’t do this! I have very fond memories of my midday walk . . .and all that Seattle coffee.

  2. I put the kettle on every hour, even if I’m not making a cup of tea.
    Also, I walk around a lot it helps me think.
    Now, if I could only stop thinking when I’m asleep that would be awesome.

  3. I’m with JN–tea breaks are the best.

    I started using the Pomodoro Technique and it’s helped a great deal. Work for 25 mins, take a 5 min. break. After 4 25 min. work rounds, you take a 15 min. break. I know it sounds like a lot of breaks, but I am so much more productive when I use it.

  4. Hmm… I must look into the Pomodoro technique. Why would they name a technique after the Italian word for tomato?

Leave a Reply

