May 4: Procrastination Sometimes Pays Off

Every Wednesday, I’ll (try) to post up a Simple Living Tip, with an emphasis on tips that can be done while living a more traditional 9-to-5 life. 

Normally I would say that procrastination works against simple living — the more you put things off, the longer your to-do list.  In most cases, you’re dragging your feet to do something that still has to get done.  However, in recent months, procrastination ended up being the better option for me. 

Case #1: I’ve had problems re-filling a prescription in the past so I marked my calendar to follow-up with them in mid-April.  Anyway, I dragged my feet for a few days and was finally about to call when the prescription arrived at my door. 

Case #2 & #3:   If you ever dealt with government, you know that there is a lot of bureaucracy and paperwork (although I would argue it’s not really that much more than private health insurance paperwork!). 

In Case #2, a government agency sent me a letter requesting some information.  I was 99% certain that this was a cross-in-the-mail situation where they had sent out this letter just as I sent in the proper information.  Of course, I had to be my usual pro-active self and called the agency several times.  No one ever called me back.  I was about to call one last time (again, having the “Call Agency” on my to-do list for at least a week) when the ‘problem’ resolved itself.    Case #3 is a little hard to describe without revealing details but let’s say that I was pro-active in submitting an application and it would have been easier all-around if I had just not done anything until someone asked for information.

It’s hard to gauge when or if procrastination will pay off. However, I’m learning that sometimes not doing something will have the same or even better results. If in doubt, sometimes it’s simpler to just wait…

Leave a Reply

