May 11: Own 12 Pairs Of Shoes

Every Wednesday, I’ll (try) to post up a Simple Living Tip, with an emphasis on tips that can be done while living a more traditional 9-to-5 life. 

I know this will not be a popular tip for fashionistas or anyone who loves shoes, but I do think that paring down your collection is a worthwhile goal for everyone, especially if you no longer really know what you have in your closet!

I wrote down the number 12 before I even took stock of my shoe closet.  Surprisingly, I was almost dead on.  Right now, I own about 12 pairs of shoes, including two pairs of boots, which is very few for most women and a lot for some.  Here’s my current inventory:

  • Flats: Brown, Black, Gray, Dark Blue; (also have another pair of black flats that is past its prime and which I never wear)
  • Pumps: Black leather, gray slingback
  • Loafers: Blue
  • Sneakers: Puma, Gray, Work-out pair
  • Boots: Black mid-calf, Brown low ankle
  • Sandals: Green
  • Espadrilles: J. Crew

I must admit that I’m looking for another pair of black pumps to save my favorite ones from being worn to death as well as neutral sandals for summer.  Even if I do add 2 pairs, I think it’s still a low total especially since I can’t wear Pumas or sneakers to work.

For men, 12 pairs of shoes may seem too high!

Everyone’s magic number is different.  However, a dozen pairs seems to be a good, reasonable number if simplicity is your goal.   Too many options makes it harder to pull outfits together.  If you love shoes too much, you can apply this principle of less is more to purses or clothing.  Most people end up wearing the same favorite outfits over and over again anyway.

What is your magic number? Can you get by with 12 pairs of shoes?

7 responses to “May 11: Own 12 Pairs Of Shoes

  1. I recently unloaded tons of shoes via freecycle. Yet somehow, I still have a ton more, despite the fact that I wear the same 3-4 pairs over and over. After getting attached to those fivefingers (yes, they’re ugly) “toe” shoes, I now have foot problems and have to get special inserts. Which means, more than likely, I’ll be down to 2 pairs of shoes–tennies and black flats for work. Yet I still have a closet full of shoes I never wear. I guess I consider it a museum. (Obviously, you are the stylish LA gal here and I am still just the country bumpkin! :P)

  2. CF– What are “toe” shoes? I must now google for pictures! And I’m nowhere near a stylish LA girl. Haha!

  3. Wow — 4 pairs. Clearly my perspective may be a bit skewed by my L.A. upbringing? I need someone with hundreds of shoes to weigh in!

  4. If it makes you feel better, I really need to replace my black flats and my black sandals…

  5. They’re called Vibran Fivefingers– http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/products/Five-Fingers-Classic-Womens.htm
    You as a proper LA girl will die in horror. But dude, they made all the pain and plantar fascitis (sp?) go away! And then they gave me the beginnings of a bunion. Shoes are my nemesis.

    Also, to give you some perspective–a friend got rid of about 20 pairs of shoes, not one pair of which cost less than $300. That was roughly half of her shoe stash. Yet I always see her in the same black flats. Go figure.

  6. Oh–I admit it would be hard for me to wear those five finger shoes, but I do generally favor comfort over style. BTW– I love how you phrased it as “die in horror” !

    My tops is $100 per pair, ideally a good brand on sale but i’m fine with “lesser” brands also. $300 is way above my comfort zone. I know many people who wear favorite pairs over and over even if they do have dozens in the closet.

Leave a Reply

