May 18: Pack Snacks, Not Lunch

Every Wednesday, I’ll (try) to post up a Simple Living Tip, with an emphasis on tips that can be done while living a more traditional 9-to-5 life. 

When you’re busy, packing lunch is right up there with folding laundry or making your bed — it should be done but falls off the to-do list pretty quickly.  The simplest route is to just buy lunch, and that’s what I’ve been doing for the most part.  However, buying lunch can get expensive and isn’t always as convenient. Sometimes it’s hassle to drive and park.  Sometimes you’re suddenly caught in a big project and don’t even have time to go out.

For me, the easiest solution is to always have snack foods handy.  This has saved my sanity and stomach numerous times when a last-minute deadline made it impossible to eat away from my desk.  Depending on your company, you can keep a lot of snack items that add up to a real meal.  Here’s a sample list of foods I try to keep around:

  • Can of tuna
  • Chips
  • Shredded cheese
  • String cheese
  • Salsa
  • Tortilla
  • Bread or Bagel
  • Wheat muffins
  • Peanut butter
  • Apple or Orange
  • Tea bags
  • Mayonnaise or mustard

With the above ingredients, I can make a quick cheese quesadilla with salsa, nachos, or tuna with mayo on a toasted bagel.  If I’m more prepared, I bring refried or black beans for a burrito, or lettuce and tomato for a healthier tuna sandwich.  Fruit and chips are good to have to round out your meals.

The one caveat I must add is that you have to more careful about food waste. It’s easy to forget about food and you don’t want to be the person who leaves mystery food in the fridge!

Do you have any good tips for fast, quick lunches?

One response to “May 18: Pack Snacks, Not Lunch

  1. Can’t go wrong with a sandwich and a bunch of fruit and cut veggies for snacks.

    Lately I’ve been having fun with flavored spreads– we made a radish dip and I used that on a sandwich. DH failed to make mozarella a second time and I used the resulting sourish cheese sprinkled with dill on a sandwich. I’ve been using fun flavored mustards etc. They seem to take an ordinary veggie or cheese or meat sandwich and elevate them to something you might buy at a fancy sandwich shop.

Leave a Reply

