June 1: Ditch Your Responsibilities Day

Every Wednesday, I’ll (try) to post up a Simple Living Tip, with an emphasis on tips that can be done while living a more traditional 9-to-5 life. 

With summer just beginning, I’ve been thinking a lot about vacations and school, specifically about ditching school.  If you’re a actually going to school, I don’t recommend ditching. It’s bad. You’ll get in trouble. Blah Blah Blah. But I think it could be a good thing for working adults to ditch work for one day, just to enjoy a beautiful weekday.

One year, I took a “ditch” day when my husband was out-of-town.  I didn’t have any specific plans.   I got sushi, did some thrift-shopping and then hung out with my dogs.   I probably watched TV or a movie at home.  Note: I don’t remember if I had already planned it ahead with my boss but I think it feels more like ditching if you call in sick. Irresponsible advice, I know!

Here are my “rules” for the working adult’s Ditch Day:

  • You must call in sick
  • Must be on a weekday, even if you work some weekends – there’s nothing better than going to a normally crowded place when all the worker bees are in the office
  • Do not run errands!
  • No guilt even if you have kids

Ideally this should be a mini-day of leisure where you eat your favorite foods and do one activity you really enjoy but never have the time to do.  You can bring a best friend or spouse but it’s probably better solo.  An outing with a best friend becomes a “girl/guy day” and including a spouse turns this into a “date” rather than a ditch day.  The ideal is to re-capture that spirit of youth though so if including friends and spouses is just more fun, go for it. 

Now how does this help you live a simpler life? It’s not a life-changer and it’s just one day out of the year.  However, I think this one carefree day is something that cubicle-dwellers deserve and one way to really savor the simple things in life. 

With Simple Living Tips about lowering the bar, procrastinating and now ditching, I should probably rename this series to Slacker living tips, or is simplicity and slacker-ness sort of the same thing sometimes? Who’s ready to ditch work? If you go for it, I want to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

