Sometimes I Hate Having Dogs…

I was going to title this “Sometimes I Hate My Dogs” but that wouldn’t be right.  They’re so loyal and loving and stare at me with those big brown eyes and are always so happy to see me…so I re-titled it as you see it above.

The reason I feel like this is because there are too many dog-related things on our to-do list right now, from the daily walks, feeding and poop-scooping to vet visits and getting dog food.  Oh, yeah, occasionally they would also like me to pet them on the head, those needy beasts!

I feel bad. I do. But all I want to do when I get home is spend every second with my kids, even if it isn’t all hugs and playtime but more often means bathing, feeding and diapering. 

My husband is much more well-adjusted about this.  He is the one who is always reminding me about the dogs’ existence.   He is willing to feed them at 9:30 pm at night while I seriously consider letting them miss a meal.  After all their wild wolf ancestors had to kill their own food, right?

I’m such a bad dog owner but I promise to be kinder once my kids are older. Plus, I want them to appreciate the love/loyalty of family pets.

Addendum:  This is what happens when you post up random thoughts in near-draft form.  I want to add that in all fairness it’s not a choice a between hugging rosy-cheeked lovable babies and dog poop. Oftentimes the babies cry a lot or are just very fussy, so you spend a lot of time just calming them down which limits the time you do have for your dogs.  So in essence I am mad at my dogs for taking up too much time, even though the babies are the real culprits!

10 responses to “Sometimes I Hate Having Dogs…

  1. Sometimes I hate having dogs too..lol
    (I love my dog. But he has to get a tooth pulled out and it’s $700 dollars!) Jeez).
    Also..he misbehaves sometimes (with men). But he’s still my favorite!

    I enjoyed your random thoughts. Thank you.

  2. Oh yes, don’t get me started on how expensive dogs are!

  3. We have cats. One of the best things about cats is litter box training… we can leave them home alone for lonnnnng periods of time without worry about their bladders. I know there’s paper training for dogs, but a lot of dog owners don’t seem to do that.

  4. My husband is in Scotland right now and I am home alone, taking care of the dogs. I have 2nd degree sunburns right now and the only thing I have wanted to do for the past 2 days is boot my dogs out the window. So, yeah, I get this.

    • If you are really frugal; you would never waste money($1,500 a year?) on useless, non productive mutts.

      • We got the dogs way before I even thought of frugal living. And even though I’m not happy about $$ or time required to care for dogs, I don’t think dogs are necessarily useless. In practical terms, they can function as guard dogs. They can also provide much needed companionship.

  5. I know what you mean! I love our dog (and so do Mr. Sandwich and Baguette), but she needs attention, too, and lately I have not been able to give her what she wants–much less what she deserves. So she’s taken to coming up and hitting my hand with her little toy poodle head to let me know that she wants to be included in the love. So often I find myself cradling a toddler on one side and petting the dog on the other. I’m surrounded by love, which is unbelievably wonderful but also exhausting!

  6. I love my dogs but end up taking them everywhere just to avoid leaving them in my tiny house with a tiny fenced in area – my pointer escapes if I don’t lock her inside and therefore she cannot be left for so long – I got dogs because I was depressed and now I am depressed because I have dogs. I want to find a better home for my pointer who would love to be with a hunter but don’t want to hurt the kids – or should I and say she ran away?

    • Your kids will need/want college educations, prom dresses, orthodontic work, allowances, all kinds of things. Get rid of the dog. If they want a dog, let them get one when they have jobs, and can afford it. If your dog escapes, and bites or kills someone, you could loose your house, and everything else, in civil court.

Leave a Reply

