Why I Blog

I’ve been thinking about why I blog, and more importantly, why I continue blogging despite a busy schedule. I could write my thoughts in a private journey. I can talk to friends or my husband about daily life and thoughts.  I don’t need to blog. 

If you knew me from my private journal entries, I would appear to be a very deep (often dark) person. That’s because I tend to dwell on negatives.  It’s not that I don’t have many happy moments; it’s just that I tend to write more when I’m angry or hurt. 

If you only knew me from conversations (in real life), I may seem either cheerful or shallow.  At work or with casual friends, I’m on the cheerful side.  Those I’m close to, of course, know that I have a deeper side.  Even so, I spend a lot of time chatting about lighter things like make-up, clothing and daily life.  In other words, go elsewhere for deep meaningful conversations about life, social issues and politics. 

So I like to think of this blog as a way to capture another side of me — the side that is a little more reflective, more thoughtful and “wiser” than I really am, the side that tempers her anger with more thought, and the side that is grateful for life but not relentlessly upbeat. 

Why do you blog?  Is your blog identity very different from your real-life personality?

6 responses to “Why I Blog

  1. I’ve thought about this and I think my blog is my personality. I write therefore I am. I’m quite introspective and philosophical and many people prefer to keep conversation upbeat and simple (which I’m bad at. I’m working on being more chatty). Also, occupational hazard: everybody hates talking about their finances which is my consulting business. Some people hate even thinking about it. (Except people who have a handle on theirs.) Lots of people I know mostly like to talk about food. I think this is why food blogs are popular because food is one way you can treat yourself without feeling guilty. I haven’t spent much on clothing in recent years, but boy have I bashed the bank account on food! Anyway, to answer your question, I write because I simply must. It’s a compulsion!

  2. JNU – True, sometimes after too much time reading blogs, I forget that talking about money is so tabooed in real life. You’re lucky that writing is so natural for you!

  3. Thanks for sharing. Blogging is a great way to put down your thoughts on paper. It helps you sort through confusion and releases angry or stress. It’s ok if you express how you feel! The great thing about blogs is that it is your own personal space where you can say what you want. It’s great when people can relate to how you feel. I recently launched http://www.whyiblog.com for people to share their stories and read about others. I would love to hear what you have to say, keep up the great blogging.

  4. I blog because I’m a self-absorbed tool who loves the sound of my own voice. God, that would be funny if it weren’t so true.

    Anyhoo, I write like I talk and I’m pretty awful at faking any kind of persona, so this is pretty much it. But I must say that I absolutely love blogging. It’s given me a platform to preach about social justice, community, frugality–all the stuff that makes for a sane world (in my humble but ever-so-correct opinion). It’s connected me to fabulous people, let me peak into the lives of interesting folks and has broadened my awareness in so many ways. Blogging creates lots of little connections–both as a reader and a writer–that have deeply enriched my life. It’s my favorite part of the interwebs!

  5. Yeah, right on, sister! I love it too. Although, I have been a bit blocked lately, but I’m hoping to get back on the horse after Labour Day.

  6. You have to let the anger and hurt and frustration out before you can take a deep breath and smile at people. I have to write every day (privately) to get myself centered before I can tackle the day.

    I always kept a journal, but I also always wanted to be a published writer, so blogging was the perfect thing! Now I also use it to practice writing, to sort out the thoughts I can’t sort out by talking.

Leave a Reply

