November 9: Kid Birthday Parties

Every Wednesday, I’ll (try) to post up a Simple Living Tip, with an emphasis on tips that can be done while living a more traditional 9-to-5 life. 

Prior to actually having kids, I had dreams of keeping it simple, especially when it comes to kid birthday parties.  Now I wonder if I’m deluding myself. It’s hard to swim against the tide.

Imaginative birthday party themes! Sushi for seven year olds. Yikes.

The Family Only option.  This is more my style, but how do-able is it once your kids are in school and all their friends have themed parties and goody-bags, etc..?

And on top of birthday parties, every holiday is now a bigger deal!

I have no answers!

4 responses to “November 9: Kid Birthday Parties

  1. We have started switching off each year between a party with friends and a family trip to a local theme park (luckily we’re close to Legoland and Disneyland). Those are still not cheap, but it’s definitely easier than a party!

  2. We don’t have to worry about this yet–Baguette is only a year and a half old–but I do wonder about it! I have fond memories of my childhood birthdays, with a dozen friends, cake, ice cream, and simple party games.

    That is, I’m sure none of it was simple for my parents, but it never involved renting multiple bouncy houses, as I’ve seen some people plan!

  3. We’ve always kept it simple, though it might have had a smaller theme(pirate or princess paper cups and plates, goodiebags), but that can also seem really simple, if you just write a short plan in advance.

    • See..that’s the problem for me. Even simple parties need a “plan in advance”!. I eloped. I didn’t write out a birth plan (something that’s mentioned in some baby books and done apparently by many moms to be). I don’t want to even plan a simple party!

Leave a Reply

