December 1: Goals Update

Ah..Goals and resolutions…it gets harder to stay motivated as the days go by, especially with the holidays coming. 

Of course, the holidays make it a prime time to enjoy parenthood (as long as you’re not one of those parents who obsess about the “perfect” Martha Stewart holiday).  I think our “tradition” consists of simple gifts (low expectations), email cards that are sent on Christmas Eve, a few Christmas TV specials, hot chocolate, Christmas music which somehow don’t sound cheesy this time of year, and a small family get-together.  I do like to decorate a little but not sure I will this year. 

Gift Wrapping Idea from Oh Happy Day

Without further ado, here’s how it’s going with my regular goals/resolutions. Let’s hope they don’t get too side-tracked by the holidays.

Update wardrobe. Purchased J. Crew belt for $8 (sale + gift card). Purchased 1 pair of cotton weekend pants ($4o). I have not shopped for a pair of dark straight leg jeans, wrap  dress or anything else on my priority list.

Eat fish at least twice a week.  Doing good, due to making it my default menu choice. However, it’s a challenge when I go to food courts and there are so many options available!

Don’t focus on saving money too much.  This is a tough one. I’ve been avoiding frugality blogs and websites.  I enjoy reading these but I often need a break or I’ll start thinking that everyone in the world cares that much about finances.

Enjoy parenthood. I’ve been going to fun “exercise” classes for kids, i.e. basically a structured playtime that tires kids out and makes them less resistant to nap time…Genius!

Exercise on the weekends.  Do “Mommy & Me” exercise classes count? How about going non-stop on weekends doing chores and chasing toddlers instead of sleeping in and watching TV like I did in the good old days…?

Don’t expect others to read my mind.  I am direct about my concerns on big issues but I still feel like we/I tiptoe around some issues due to family dynamics etc.. Sometimes it’s more important to keep the peace. Also, it’s hard to be very direct with parents about money-related issues.

Pamper myself.  An appointment got unexpectedly cancelled but I had already taken that time off from work.  Rather than going straight to the office, I enjoyed a morning walk on a crisp autumn day.  For some reason the  sound of birds chirping and cars speeding by reminded me of Europe.  I shopped, stopped at Starbucks and then headed in to work.

Let go of my idea of a “perfect” clean house!  Just having this resolution on my list forces me to worry less about a messy house. Of course we do have cleaning help right now and I don’t know how I would feel if I couldn’t afford help and our cleanliness standards fell even lower! Note: My husband made a comment about the dirty sink — I guess my standards have fallen to the point that he notices.  Should I tell him it’s part of my resolution?

How are you doing on your goals? Is anyone thinking of 2012 goals yet?

3 responses to “December 1: Goals Update

  1. I found my goals for 2011 and died laughing. I think I managed maybe one of them. So, I’m just going to recycle some of them for 2012! But I really enjoy the end of the year–reflecting on what happened, looking forward for what is to come, the sense of a fresh start, etc. I think I’m going to steal your pampering goal. I need more of that!

  2. CF — I visited your blog and read your post about Fall Spiraling, so just be sure to pamper yourself with non-spendy things too!

  3. Will do. Do you think I could get a hot tub into a 500 sq. ft. apartment? Oh wait, that’s probably spendy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

