Outside Your Comfort Zone

Do you read blogs that don’t “fit” into your main blog profile? I noticed that most food bloggers link to other food bloggers, moms to moms, 20-something money bloggers to other similar blogs. That makes sense because readers are probably looking for similar info and blogrolls are a great way to discover blogs with similar focus/interest.

However, just like in real life I guess, I’ve always been attracted to the “exotic” or differences. I love traveling for that reason.  While my husband and I do have similar politics and values, we come from different cultures and continents.  And for blogs, I like to read about people that are very different from me.  

I’m far from my 20s but I have several 2o-something  personal finance bloggers on my blog roll.  I never read social/political books but I like to read about these topics at Consciously Frugal.  I’m not in the 1% but I also like to read the Wall Street Journal (don’t ask why…). I’m not religious at all but lately I started reading a faith-based blog called Faith Permeating Life.  I am nowhere as put together or visual or happy as any of these design-friendly bloggers: A Cup of Jo, Oh Happy Day, and Sweet Fine Day

In truth, I have more in common with the “mom” blogs that so many people make fun of. I’ve found several that write on many topics besides parenthood while allowing that parenting/children is an all-encompassing topic.   I like starting my day with Grumpy Rumblings, Wandering Scientist or A Tragic Sandwich.

There are so many good blogs out there and I’m too lazy to link-love them all.  

How about you? Do you follow bloggers whose lives are vastly different from yours? 

13 responses to “Outside Your Comfort Zone

  1. On my blog, I have links to two categories: bloggers I know personally (family and friends) and bloggers whose content is in the same vein as mine. However, that’s a shortened list of what I actually read; I have an RSS feed full of people I find interesting, whether or not I agree with them–parenting blogs, transportation blogs, news blogs, and work-related blogs. Reading things written by people with experiences like mine helps me feel connected, and reading things written by people with different experiences helps me look at topics in new ways. I could probably do a little more of the latter, but I think my mix is reasonably okay.

    • Re: reading things by people with different experiences…I totally agree. It’s great to feel connected which is also my primary reason for following blogs but sometimes it helps to step outside my comfort zone and as you say read other perspectives.

  2. Definitely. Call it aspirational blog-reading! I won’t share them here right now because my hands are killing me but I do love to wander the blogosphere’s many topics and learn about things I know little or nothing about. Agreed with quite a few of yours above, for example. 🙂

    • Yes, I do a lot of aspirational reading too. Right now I’m reading many ex-pat blogs but for some reason the expats in Paris or France seem more appealing than Italy! Maybe the Berlusconi fiasco has something to do with that..

  3. Awww! Thanks!

    Though only one of us rumblers is actually a mom. 🙂

  4. Thanks! I should drop by here more often, too. I always enjoy it when I do (and not just when you say nice things about me). I’m revamping my blog reading right now- fewer “big” sites, more smaller ones where I can enjoy a conversation.

    • I should add that I like to start my day with fellow “mom” blogs that often have more to say than “just ” about motherhood or rather more intelligent things to say on the topic. If I’m in a lighter mood, I’ll start my day with the design-oriented blogs though of course every blog has its lighter and darker days!

  5. Hey, I got a shout out! I feel special. 🙂 And really, it’s best not to read those political books. Let me be the one who gets pissed off all the time. Your kids don’t need that. ha!

    Speaking of kids, I don’t have any and don’t plan on having any, but I really enjoy reading mom blogs. I suppose that makes me weird, but I think mothers are pretty amazing and I love to read about different parenting styles. Anytime I feel like I’m just too overwhelmed with life, I read a mom blog and get over myself. I can’t imagine how I would cope if I had to feed, clothe and car for another living creature.

  6. Or even “care for”…ug. Typos. I will refrain from noting the many others in that post. *cough*

  7. Thanks for the link! I know most of my readers/commentators are young childless 20 something women, but I definitely appreciate other perspectives. I must say, most of my blog reading isn’t too much of a stretch, just other young women who write about one interest of mine or another. I do like grumpy rumblings, but that’s not much of a branch out since I think they are youngish and career focused with personal finance notes in addition to the kid stuff. I read a few travel blogs, but I can’t really read design or fashion blogs, because it just makes me want to buy things. I can barely even read travel blogs, because I’m so incredibly envious, and reading about travel is NOTHING like traveling. Ha. Maybe I still have some growing up to do there.

    Thanks for the perspective, I clicked on a few of the recommended links!

  8. I am very new to the blogging world and have really just been making time to do my own thing, but just this week I have ventured out of my own little world to see what is out there. So it is really quite funny that you should post this topic. I have realised very quickly that I actually prefer to look outside of my blog’s area, “happiness” for a couple of reasons: 1. I want my blog to be reflections of mine and not to be swayed or influenced by similar themes 2. I would hate anyone to think I copied anything 3. I would rather read blogs that inspire me and open me up to new ideas……Can’t wait to check out some that you have noted. I suppose whne you see something you like, it just clicks????

  9. Great insights here. Most of us, unfortunately, read things that merely reinforce what we already believe. Our current political system is one example of what results from this.

    I’ve always felt the best way to counteract this is to seek out ideas and writings from people who I *disagree* with–not only does it help strengthen my logic and critical thinking muscles, but it also helps me to honestly re-evaluate the ideas I hold myself.

Leave a Reply

