2012 Resolution

Another Every Wednesday Post…

In 2011, I made a list of small and some fairly vague goals.  Since I didn’t make my list til late 2011, I’m not sure if you can really count it as success or failure but here goes:

1) Update wardrobe – Yes, I did some shopping. I still need to buy new shoes.

2) Eat fish at least twice a week  – So/so. Some weeks were better than others. I’ll still try to do this in 2012.

3) Not to focus on saving money – Sometimes.

4) Enjoy parenthood – Yes. Yes?

5) Exercise on weekends – Fail.

5) Don’t expect others to read my mind – So/so.

6) Pamper myself – Yes, I did make some effort to enjoy time to myself without guilt.  

7) Let go of my idea of a “perfect” clean house – Yes.

For 2012, I wanted to keep it simple and come up with one big goal instead of several small ones.  So even though it’s a vague, non-actionable goal and experts recommend that you set goals that are concrete and action-able (i.e take a yoga class vs. lose weight), I’m just going to set one big vague goal: Attack My Fears, or not let my fears hold me back.

I don’t want to let my fears hold me back from tackling new challenges in life or work.  Whether that means uprooting myself from my home country or just learning new things on the job or taking a new class, I’m not 100% sure.  I just know that when I look back at my proudest moments and accomplishments, it usually involved taking myself out of my comfort zone.

If I come up with concrete actions, I’ll let you know….

6 responses to “2012 Resolution

  1. “I just know that when I look back at my proudest moments and accomplishments, it usually involved taking myself out of my comfort zone.” Preach the word! My theme for this year is to get comfortable with being uncomfortable. I think we’re on a similar tract, which means, of course, that we are going to have an awesome 2012. 🙂

  2. I like the idea of having a “theme” for the year. I never thought of it that way!

  3. I had decided for 2012 that I would choose one word as my resolution. I must say that having such a bad memory and never remembering what in the heck my resolutions were had decided this for me. So my word for 2012 is GRATITUDE! I will be grateful every single day of 2012. Every day I try to think of new things to be grateful for. I have realised I am happiest when grateful and unhappiest when not…..so here’s cheers to my gratefulness and your braveness!

    • For a time, I regularly wrote down things I’m grateful for but I think I need to expand upon this to really feel grateful!

  4. That reminds me of my mantra, which I come back to time and again when I’m having trouble finding the nerve to move forward: “Love, not Fear.” It helped me make at least one big leap in life (but I’m a wimp, still, mostly!)

    And without making it a specific goal, I have too been working on letting go of my idea of a “perfect” house. My kids are giving me the kick in the rear I need for that one, lemme tell ya…

Leave a Reply

