Fear of Crock Pots

Another Every Wednesday Post…

One of the main causes of our hectic evenings is the lack of dinner preparation.  While this lack of preparation was manageable with two adults, it can cause major meltdowns with kids, who don’t understand having to wait for dinner.  I know I’m not the first busy parent with this first-world problem.  That’s why the crock pot was invented, or so my friends and co-workers tell me.  It is supposed to be the easiest thing in the world.  You chop a bunch of vegetables and meat and put these into this magical beast and hours later you have a complete meal.  It’s not just for soups and stews; you can bake a cake in it.   Despite the assurances of many friends and family, I have not purchased one….yet. 

I think the main reason for my “fear” is that my husband is the chef in the family and he didn’t grow up with crock pot cooking.  He doesn’t know anything about it and neither do I. 

This “fear” is probably laughable for many readers. However, I’ve known many Westerners who didn’t know how to cook rice or stir fry properly, so if you don’t understand why this simple cooking system can cause any sort of trepidation, imagine how you may feel if asked to cook an entirely foreign food (whether that’s tamales, risotto, stir fry tofu or what have you).

Since 2012 is the year I address fears, both major and minor, I think it’s time that I/we explore crock pot cooking.  First, I have to buy a cheap one.  Then I have to look up recipes.  Simple, right? Is there a cookbook called Crock Pot cooking for dummies? If not, there should be. 

6 responses to “Fear of Crock Pots

  1. It is so funny that you post this…I have a fear of crockpots too!!!! People out there in the world tell me of this mysterious, wonderful invention….. you just throw a bunch of raw ingredients into this amazing machine and at the end of a long work day arrive home to a magically prepared delicious dinner….why then, don’t we ALL have one???? Because I don’t think they are all that they are cracked up to be??? Are they just another kitchen gadget that ends up shoved in the back of a kitchen cupboard??? My luck, I would set it wrong and burn the house down or return home to some horrible dry disaster. I feel safer, cooking casseroles, spag sauces, lasagnes,roasts when I have time and freezing leftovers……am I crazy??? Is a crockpot something to be marvelled at or feared??? I just can’t bring myself to buy one. If you get one let me know how you go??

  2. Michelle – I’m glad I’m not the only one! Stay tuned for another post about my crockpot disaster (not burning the house down thankfully)..

  3. You’re not alone!

  4. The best recipe people have a crockpot book. Or you could get their Make Ahead book which has a section for crock-pot meals but also has a ton of other make ahead options.

  5. p.s. The hardest part about crockpot meals is the clean-up after. It’s a bit of a pain to clean the insert. There’s different levels of difficulty in terms of crock-pot meals… the Best Recipe folks will have you saute things before putting them in the pot, but some recipes are literally, “throw these things in a pot together, stick the lid on, turn on the heat to low, come back several hours later.” There’s trade-offs. The recipe booklet that will come with your crockpot will have more of the simpler meals where you just toss stuff in.

    Also anything you can make in a stewpot you can put in a crock-pot so it can cook without burning the house down while you’re gone. If I’m going to be home all day I’ll just let something stew on the stove, but if I’m going to be gone sometimes I will put it in the crockpot instead. (Again, I hate cleaning the crockpot.)

  6. Nobody ever mentions the cleaning part, do they? Thanks for the very helpful tips.

Leave a Reply

