No Fear

Another Every Wednesday Post…

Since I’m addressing fears in 2012, I thought I would also note that I don’t fear some things that are fearful for many others.

For example, so far, I haven’t been fearful about aging.  While I use sunblock and try to take care of my skin and hair, I am not fighting the aging process tooth and nail, as so many women seem to do beginning in their 30s and 40s.  I may not embrace gray hairs though. 

I’m not fearful of being alone. I’ve done many things solo from watching movies to eating dinner alone to traveling.  While I think those experiences are usually better with good company, there are times that I really want to do or see something and not having a good companion didn’t stop me from enjoying things. 

I’m not afraid of traveling abroad.  I know many people who hate the idea of being in a foreign country where they don’t know the language.  I always find ways to communicate and enjoy that newness and excitement.

I’m not afraid of dying. I’m afraid of pain and illness but I have a morbid streak that thinks that when your time is up, it’s okay as long as you had lived a full, long life.  Not sure how I will feel about this as I really approach the end of life though!

I’m not afraid of trying strange foods. I’m Chinese. I’ll eat almost anything. It strikes me as odd and a bit sad when I meet people who can’t even try things like chicken feet or smelly REAL cheese!

Do you not fear things that many others are afraid of — like bungee jumping or public speaking?

3 responses to “No Fear

  1. I’m right there with you apart from the dying part. I most definitely have not finished yet, so would be a very peeved ghost rattling her chains at all the lucky mortals. I don’t fear talking on the radio. I don’t think that counts as public speaking though. And American Chinese food is a absolutely hideous both in taste and texture. Someone prove me wrong, please!

  2. I do not get why people aren’t terrified of dying. If possible, I would live for eternity, like a vampire (without the blood drinking part).

    Life is never ever going to be long enough for me to do everything worth doing. Ever.

    I am not afraid of public speaking. I get nervous, yes, but at some level, I like it.

  3. I’m with you on the aging thing, although I wanted to crap my pants when this older Asian woman asked me over the weekend, “Is this your daughter? Your Chinese daughter?” Um, I was with a friend who is 6 years younger than me and is Latina. I mean, yes, she looks like she’s about 12 but Chinese? Daughter? Huh? At that point I thought–maybe I should bump up the ol’ moisturizer?

    Public speaking does not frighten me, although I will occasionally get the jitters. I’m not afraid of “bad” neighborhoods. I’m not afraid to talk to strangers or to be in weird social situations (e.g., a party where I don’t know a soul, etc.). Hey! This little exercise is making me feel like a bad ass. 🙂

Leave a Reply

