Why Blogging Is Better Than A Diary

Have you ever re-read your old diaries?  Years ago, I came across a few notebook/diaries that covered late adolescence (Hello Kitty notebooks…Purple ink…Unhealthy obsession with 80s pop bands!) to high school age (unrequited crushes…forgotten arguments…mean girls, and mean boys…).  I must say that I was a bit appalled and embarassed by my own thoughts and confessions.  After re-living a few highly dramatic moments, I destroyed these.  

I’m sure that my actions are appalling to anyone who has ever kept a diary, and I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I was a bit hesitant.  I’m sure that if I had re-read everything, there had to be some deeper insights along with the teen angst.  In the end, I was more fearful of having them discovered someday.  I am no longer that person and I wouldn’t want any family member finding out some of the horrible things I wrote about them during my angry youthful days.   I’m not saying that there isn’t some value at reading your old thoughts and feelings but for me, it just brought out bad memories.  I think I tend to dwell on negatives rather than write about good things.  I was pretty dramatic also, as are most teenagers I suppose.

So now instead of keeping a journal, I keep on blogging.  For me, the most important difference between a blog and diary is that I’m forced to think through what I say/write before hitting the publish button.  That fact alone makes me less negative and more thoughtful.   Maybe a diary  is more truthful, but at least I won’t be embarassed if I read my own thoughts 20 years from now!

Do you keep your old diaries or are you worried someone will discover them?

6 responses to “Why Blogging Is Better Than A Diary

  1. Whew! So glad it isn’t just me who is ashamed of some of my old diary entries! Some of them make me want to reach back in time and slap myself. A lot of my entries tend to be negative too, but a big part of that is writing has always helped me work through some of those feelings.

    I’ve been rereading and retyping some old diaries so that I can keep them digitally and ditch (aka burn!) the hard copies. Then I just need to password protect them so no one can read them when I’m gone.

    I have a hard time getting rid of my diaries entirely because my memory is so bad that my old diaries are all the memories I have of certain periods of my life. I’m afraid if I chuck them I’ll lose the memory prompts too.

    I still keep a journal (albeit a digital, offline one) and lately I’ve become much better about remembering to write when I’m in a good mood to celebrate the things in life I’m happy about and grateful for. I’m not sure what caused the change exactly, but it’s been therapeutic and should make for much better re-reading in the future!

  2. I destroyed my old diaries, because when I read through them I realized that they were basically just lists of things I did that day. And not interesting things–just “Today I bought textbooks and gummi bears.” Etc.

    That’s the kind of diary that even historians find only marginally interesting.

  3. I thought a lot about sex.

  4. Most of them make me want to cringe. I would destroy them, yes. If I have forgotten about something, then so be it.

    I haven’t found any from when I was younger than 18 or so.

  5. I think you’re right, the great thing about blogging is that it gives you a chance to hear from others and see a whole new perspective of what’s on your mind than just sharing your thoughts with those you see on a day to day basis.

  6. Pingback: Short & Sweet: How I Rest « Live From Penn State

Leave a Reply

