Your Money Or Your Life: Stuck on Chapter 4

Chapter 4 of “Your Money or Your Life” focuses on fulfillment.  The questions asked are:

  1. What did you want to be when you grow up?
  2. What have you always wanted to do that you haven’t done yet?
  3. What have you done in your life that you’re really proud of?
  4. If you knew you were going to die in a year, how would you spend that year?
  5. What brings your the most fulfillment – and how is that related to money?
  6. If you didn’t have to work for a living, what would you do with your time?

I am stuck. I have no answers or rather my answers change depending on my day and mood.  I think one of the big problems is that my proudest accomplishments are related to my current line of work, yet I’m not sure that I want to be in this job or field for the rest of my life.

With this in mind, here’s my attempt at answering those questions:

  1. I wanted to be a dancer at some point but I can’t dance well.
  2. Don’t know.
  3. All related to my work, or just that fact that I had kids.
  4.  Travel, or live in a foreign land for a year.
  5. I love living in foreign places and getting to know a city or place. I love learning new things and challenging my mind.  I also find it very fulfilling when I help other people even if it’s simply giving advice or support in an online forum.
  6. I would live in a beautiful natural environment, work in a garden, exercise, eat well, spend time with my family, and read / write blogs.  I would do something to make a difference…not sure what.

I have no idea how these answers can shape my life.  Maybe it’s because I skipped some exercises in earlier chapters?  Help…

Although this wasn’t addressed, I do want a somewhat comfortable life.  Everyone’s definition of comfort is different.  For me, that means money in the bank to take care of emergencies, fly and visit family members, take care of my family’s health from braces to major medical care, get cleaning help sometimes, and to buy some pretty clothes every so often.

I also don’t want to be too dependent on the kindness of others.  At least among my friends and family, I’ve often noticed that the poorest members get tons of hand-outs from small favors to plane tickets.   I’m sure others are glad to help but I would worry that my livelihood is dependent upon someone else having to work the grind so to speak.  (If I am ever in that situation, I would make sure to return the favor in other ways via my time but so many people just seem to get used to receiving and not giving help, in my opinion).

So the bigger question is what is enough?

5 responses to “Your Money Or Your Life: Stuck on Chapter 4

  1. Ooh, yes, I remember those.
    I couldn’t answer 1-4 either.
    For 5, I decided it was, “Watching things grow.”
    For 6, I decided, “Read novels, watch anime, make food, putter about… and then eventually throw myself into some other line of work because apparently I can only do that for 2 months before I get sucked into something else.”

    • I like puttering about, too. Unfortunately I can’t make a living doing that! I think once I’m retired, I can always find things to do from chores to learning new things. Oh yes, I like learning new things too.

  2. 1. I wanted to be a Travel Consultant….and I did it for 10 years before children…To me, not a job that suits family life…and even though I enjoyed it the pay was not crash hot. I earn more now working in Admin and have no where near the same levels of stress.
    2. Go to Borneo to the Orangutan refuge. Helps others.
    3. Being a kind, down to earth person and having kids
    4. If money was no object and I was healthy enough: travel, spend time with loved ones and help others.
    5. Time spent with friends and family. Being kind and thoughtful to others. I see no relation to money in this area of my life,
    6. This one is easy….I would retire, build our dream home in the town I live in now, spend time with loved ones, do volunteer work, and help others.

    I know if I was able to change my life I would want to help others but I have no idea how and right now with two teenagers I feel that my role is to help them. Maybe when they fly from the nest I can work on these other areas that interest me.

    • It’s great that you achieved your dream! It’s interesting that i know so many people who would say traveling, spending time with family and friends and volunteering, yet in our regular lives, those are usually the first things to get neglected or fall by the wayside.

  3. Pingback: Wait, I Do Have Dreams… | Oilandgarlic's Blog

Leave a Reply

