How I’m Doing On Goals and Pseudo-Resolutions

I resolved to focus on my career, bought an interview suit, and am now on the fence about even looking.  My reason for this change of heart is that I want to enjoy my shorter commute and low-stress job. It’s not that my job is without its stresses and deadlines;  it’s just that I’m a seasoned pro here who knows my job well, including short cuts and knowing the right people to ask for help in most situations. Any new job entails a learning curve and possibly longer work hours and the main reason for our move was to increase my time with the kids.

What I have done:

  • I sort of updated my Linked In skills/profile.
  • I read one or two articles related to my field.  It’s a struggle as I’m constantly tempted by other reading materials.  Now if I can apply what I read to my work, that would be a bonus.
  • I emailed my boss about upping the game in terms of building my skills at my current job. I figure that if I’m too lame to make a serious move and check outside options or go for higher titles, then I should make the most of my current situation.

Still, it feels like the new suit hanging in my closet is a constant reminder of my backpedaling ways!

In other areas:

I ate french fries two days in a row.  I didn’t make a resolution to eat healthier but eating worse is never a goal of mine!

I have not stepped into my gym in months.

I have prepped dinner a few nights but still find it a challenge to make the most of my extra half hour per night.

I am trying to not let the house fall into utter disorder/mess before cleaning.  I sweep up almost daily and try not to let things pile up.  This is good in a way as I’m learning that big cleanings are a bigger chore and headache.  The not so good part is that I end up doing more cleaning overall.

I have snapped at my husband (and others) much too often.  Not doing well in terms of appreciating loved ones.

I’m still a stressful basket case at times (though no longer due to traffic and commute!)

I have done some armchair activism but nothing more.

I signed up for a class — nothing related to work, just fun time with the kids.   I can’t wait…

I’m taking a photo a day. It’s not about being creative or artistic, although I try my best. It’s about documenting the small things in life from a messy sink to messy desk to a messy family life.  A mess is what I got…

So even though I didn’t officially make resolutions, in the back of my mind, I still have some goals that I’m trying to achieve..or not.  How are you doing on your goals and resolutions?

9 responses to “How I’m Doing On Goals and Pseudo-Resolutions

  1. I am sick now, and feel like I haven’t even started yet. Sigh.

    I think part of making goals and resolutions and checking in periodically is also to figure out what might not be relevant or useful anymore. I think that your career resolution fits this – maybe the lifestyle your current job affords you is more important and you can improve your satisfaction within your current job rather than finding another one? Sounds like you are on the right track already.

    • Yes, I may have to re-evaluate my goals in terms of life style satisfaction. It’s hard because I’ve been putting off advancing my career for years, but yet I also need to enjoy time with my family right now.

  2. Like Anandi, I’ve been sick- I got sick on New Year’s Eve and haven’t recovered yet. I’m off to the doctor tomorrow to see if there is anything more than the usual lingering aftereffects of a cold brought on by my asthma.

    So I haven’t really started on things, either. I can’t workout, unless you count the coughing fits that leave me exhausted! But today, I cleaned my closet shelf that stores my jewelry- I think I want to wear my jewelry again, and the mess was getting in my way. So maybe that counts as progress towards getting comfortable in my own skin again? I don’t know.

  3. @Cloud – Ugh, I’m sorry it’s lasted this long. I just started and hope that it’ll go away by Saturday bc I am supposed to see Book of Mormon.

    I think any small step is good. It’s only a few weeks into January!

  4. Yes, it’s only mid-January and there’s all the time in the world to get going on resolutions and goals!

  5. I finally broke down and made 3 New Year’s resolutions. I am one for thee. I have gotten a flu shot. I have not yet gotten a haircut. I have not yet gotten my suit pants hemmed. Maybe I’ll try one per month. 🙂 Currently I’m trying to survive on a daily basis. Life will get better when we have childcare on the days I’m not teaching. Assuming that happens.

    I think you’re going to do really well with your career goals– you seem (from your blog persona, anyway) like you’re under-placed or at least underpaid. A little movement may bump you up quite a bit, even if you stay at the same company.

  6. I’m doing great on my first resolution (I will not gossip, and I will proactively speak out against anyone who gossips in my presence.) At a party, a local friend’s husband was about to share a bit of gossip to my husband, and when he saw me walking over towards them he stopped talking and said “I know you don’t care for gossip, so that’s why I stopped talking just now.” I said “Thanks for understanding” and he said “This is probably why everyone respects you so much.” 😉

  7. I think everyone is sick. We got flu shots and everyone is sick (though perhaps less so than we would be — or it’s something entirely different). That and the snow makes running less frequent. On the other hand, I know January is a bad month for running. I will have less trouble with make up mileage in March and April. Unless we’re still sick which, judging by the past few weeks, is not entirely unlikely.

Leave a Reply

