My Attempt At Doing What Successful People Do On Weekends

Time management expert  and author Laura Vanderkam has a new e-book called “What The Most Successful People Do On Weekends” (read review from House of Peanut here).  I haven’ t read it yet but the gist of it seems to be how to be more productive on weekends.  I tend to emulate or strive for simplicity and personal happiness even if it’s not the same as what “successful” people do.  I believe successful people are defined by the author as typically Type A high-powered & career-minded people who are successful in their fields.  Therefore, I’m not the target audience!

However, that doesn’t mean I can’t get good advice from books like these (and I’m sure I will once I read it..).  One of the tips from the author’s blog at least is to  plan an Anchor event on the weekends.  This anchor event should be something fun that gets you and/or your family out of the house so that weekends are more memorable and not all about chores and puttering around.

For several weekends, we’ve accidentally followed this advice.  The first weekend was very simple and not super planned-out but it was a Saturday morning excursion to a nearby park.  The next weekend was a music concert for kids at the library on a Saturday morning.  The third weekend included a date night on Saturday.  I admit that doing something fun on Saturdays, when I normally would be puttering around the house, was a good change for our family.  We tend to put off the fun stuff; if we don’t do it on Saturday or plan something, nothing fun gets done.

At the same time, those weekends felt harried, too.  The music concert took out a good chunk of morning.  We still had a lot of stuff that needed to get done.  On top of regular stuff like meal prep, cooking, putting dishes away, multiple diaper changes, and more,  I managed to do some gardening and a quick wipe-down of the kitchen and bathroom, including the dreaded chore of cleaning the tub.   My husband was busy, too, but we were too busy to notice each other’s chore duties!

After all these memorable, fun weekends, I need a chill-out weekend to decompress and do nothing!

How do you manage your weekends? Are you on board with the idea of planning fun or do you prefer to have unscheduled time, or a little of both?

7 responses to “My Attempt At Doing What Successful People Do On Weekends

  1. One of my friends and I decided that maybe these successful people don’t like to read a lot of fiction. (Though… we’re successful! Just apparently not by the standards of the folks interviewed for those books.)

    I also wonder how much “success” is driven by “living in a city” in terms of who gets interviewed. What is the appropriate control group? Maybe unsuccessful people who live in cities also do lots of stuff out and about on the weekend. Maybe successful people who live in the middle of nowhere don’t.

    • Maybe successful people in the boondocks do more outdoorsy things since there are more cultural opportunities in the big cities? I define myself as mid-level-successful though I don’t really care about success that is mainly defined by money and title.

  2. We have a mix of planned events and chilling and that is exactly how I like it. I love to catch up with friends, go for walks, eat yummy food and occasionally see a movie or go out for dinner.
    Maya Angelou says “success is liking yourself, liking what you do and liking how you do it”…..so I figure in that regard I am successful and that my weekends are successful too!

  3. I have to alternate Doing Stuff weekends with Nothing Planned weekends otherwise I poop out entirely now. I used to break up the weekends with mornings being entirely mine (for reading and researching) and reserving the afternoons and evenings for running errands, doing work and the like.
    We do outdoorsy things together on occasion, PiC does it all the time.

  4. Thanks for the mention! I tend to have around 3 things planned. They’re not always huge (church, Y trip, family excursion would do it). Once every few weeks, though, we try to aim for something bigger. I figure there aren’t that many vacations in life so I can’t put off all the things i want to do until then (or retirement).

    • Good to know that a trip to the Y “counts”! The hardest part for me is the aiming for something bigger but it’s important since we’re not really taking that many vacations these days.

Leave a Reply

