Alone Time

The other day, a casual acquaintance asked me about alone time, and when I said exercise or my lunch break, she gave me this ‘look’ which clearly meant that those 2 activities didn’t count.

To me, getting some exercise is a great feat in and of itself.  Getting to read a book, even if it’s in the middle of a work day, is also a great stress relief.  After work, it’s family time and if I’m lucky, I get in some couple time and see old friends.  My goal is to focus more on career this year so any other extra time will probably be taken up with chores, cooking or career-related activities/reading. There’s just zero time for “me” time, as in hobbies or whatever “counts” as quality me time.  This brings me to the question. What does count as “me” time? Is it shopping by myself, rather than with friends? Reading on the weekends?  Taking a walk by myself? Going to a spa by myself?? I could take a class I suppose. I guess I’m not quite sure what I’m supposed to do and if I should schedule “me” time?  

I’m not saying that my acquaintance is 100% correct; after all, the early parenting years are extremely busy. However, I wonder if I’m shortchanging myself and asking for burn-out because I don’t take time for myself.

8 responses to “Alone Time

  1. It seems like “me time” is best defined by the person taking it! I think if *you* feel like you get enough time to yourself and are doing the things you want to do, you’re not likely to get burned out.

    I have a friend who’s constantly being exhorted by friends to take lots of this “me time” – to leave her family and go on trips with friends, etc. She doesn’t want to and she doesn’t feel burned out, even though they keep telling her she “needs” it. I’m not sure how other people can make this call, really.

    I definitely think a lot of people consider exercise “me time”. Heck, even I do and I HATE exercise. But the idea of taking a walk or run by myself sounds divine. I think there’s productive “me time” and vegetating “me time” and some people do better with one vs the other. It’s all good 🙂

    For me, it’s solo crafty time. I have a craft room that’s in one corner of the house and it’s like a sanctuary for me. I don’t spend as much time as I’d like in there.

  2. I agree with Anandi……”me” time is what ever pleases you! It does not have to suit others, fit into any mould, sound exciting, be alone or be extravagant. It is whatever suits you and your mood and taken whenever it suits you. Some of my favourite alone time things are: zumba class, walking with friends, cooking, housework, chatting on the phone, lunch with girlfriends, watching a fav tv show, reading a magazine in my lunch break, sleeping……
    It is not called “please other people time” it is “me time”….Do whatever makes you happy!

  3. @ Anandi @ Michelle: Thanks both. I needed to hear that!

  4. I like the idea of calling it ‘me’ time, although for me alone time IS me time! For T, though i would basically be anything that’s NOT work time (and almost of all that is spent with other people – me, friends, family. He definitely does not like true alone time.

  5. I include time spent nursing under the “me” time heading. 🙂

    My DH includes time spent in the bathroom.

    • Now that I think about it, a nice long shower should count as “me” time, as well as just time to do bathroom stuff without interruption or kids banging at the door!

  6. Me time includes dancing tango and spending time with one or two good girl friends. Those activities just make me happy.

  7. A shower works. Or reading a book. Or exercising. I don’t know why we have this idea that a spa needs to be involved in order for it to count as leisure time or me time or solo time or whatever you want to call it. That may be why some people think they never get “me time” but they’re watching 3 hours of TV a night (what is that?)

Leave a Reply

