Mindless Magazines

I recently got free magazine subscriptions to InStyle and Redbook. While InStyle has always been light on content, I thought Redbook offered more “insightful” articles about relationships, marriage and life in general.  At least that’s what I remember from skimming through Redbook in doctors’ offices.  Anyway, the issue I got was a revamped Redbook with a beaming Lauren Conrad, bold fonts and bright, happy graphics and tons of images.  There was definitely an attempt to be more interactive as in encouraging you to scan a code to see videos or go online.  In many ways, it was mimicking a website or blog.  And it read like a very light-weight fashion blog, too.  InStyle also seemed more graphic and image-heavy than in the past.

I get it. Magazines are competing with the online experience on tablets, websites, social media and blogs.  It’s fair to assume your readership, or potential new readers, have very short attention spans.  Still I find it sad that both of these magazines have become so shallow (especially Redbook, now a sad imitation of Lucky and Teen Vogue) that it’s not worth keeping for a second glance.

What are your thoughts of lifestyle or glossy women’s magazines?

5 responses to “Mindless Magazines

  1. I’ve been subscribing to Better Homes and Gardens and have been happy with it. I’ve noticed this trend over quite some time; Glamour used to be a mix of light articles and more thought-provoking topics, and I just can’t stand it’s vapidness now. Have you tried More? It seems to be filling that gap, although I haven’t subscribed yet.

  2. I don’t read any, to be quite honest. The only magazines I read are the publication I work for and I usually skim a number of our other mags (and a couple of current affairs type mags, with a bit of lifestyle crossover, which also get delivered to the office).

    I think mags really need to focus on what print CAN do – great photography and layouts, yeah, with a bit of interactivity, but not too much.

  3. I also don’t read any magazines. Used to get Gourmet (where I got the latest important news on um, the gourmet food industry), but I had a big backlog that I hadn’t read even before they went out of business.

  4. I think I’m discovering that most magazines are even worth skimming through, especially since I’m trying not to shop much the rest of this year!

Leave a Reply

